Win by a record margin of votes, Mamata will be the Chief Minister

  International Desk |  Sunday, October 3rd, 2021 |  10:10 am
Win by a record margin of votes, Mamata will be the Chief Minister

This time Bhabanipur chose the girl of the house. Mamata Banerjee is the Chief Minister of West Bengal after winning her seat by a record margin of votes.

By-polls were held in Bhabanipur, Shamserganj and Jangipur constituencies of Kolkata on Thursday. The counting of votes started on Sunday (October 3) morning. After a total of 21 rounds of counting, Mamata won by a margin of 56,732 votes. Mamata got more than 72,000 votes. His rival BJP candidate Priyanka Tibrewal got more than 25,000 votes.

This time, Mamata contested the Nandigram constituency of East Midnapore in the West Bengal Assembly elections. His opponent was Subhendu Adhikari, who joined the BJP from the Trinamool. Mamata lost to Shuvendu by 1,957 votes. Although he lost in Nandigram, the Trinamool Congress made him the Chief Minister in accordance with the constitution. The constitutional rule is that Mamata must win one of the assembly seats in the state within six months.

According to Indian law, Trinamool Congress leader Mamata Banerjee has to win the by-election to be the Chief Minister of West Bengal. So in order to win the party leader Mamata from Bhabanipur, the elected Trinamool leader Shobhandev Chattopadhyay resigned. As a result, the Bhabanipur seat became vacant and Mamata contested the by-election of that seat.

It may be mentioned that Mamata also won this seat in the 2011 and 2016 assembly elections and became the Chief Minister.