Mamata took oath in the opposition zero assembly

 International Desk |  Thursday, October 7th, 2021 |  10:26 am
Mamata took oath in the opposition zero assembly

Mamata Banerjee had earlier been sworn in as the Chief Minister. After winning the Bhabanipur by-election, he also took oath as MLA this time. Along with Mamata, Jangipur’s winning candidate Zakir Hussain and Shamserganj’s winning candidate Amirul Islam have also been sworn in as MLAs. Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar administered the oath of office to all the three.

Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar performed this duty under the Representation of the People Act.

Recently that message was sent from Raj Bhavan to the Secretariat of the Legislative Assembly. Afterwards, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Perth Chatterjee said the governor would administer the oath to the three winning MLAs, including Mamata.

Meanwhile, no BJP MLA was present at Mamata’s swearing-in ceremony. Mamata took oath in the opposition zero assembly.

According to sources, the BJP leadership is reluctant to give special importance to the swearing-in ceremony of the Chief Minister. And that’s why the Gerua camp decided to avoid it.

Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee was sworn in as MLA at 2pm on Thursday. The winners of Jangipur and Samsherganj by-elections also took oath with him.

After taking oath, the Chief Minister had a tea party with the Governor at the Speaker’s house in the Assembly. They are accompanied by Speaker Biman Banerjee and Perth Chatterjee.

Source: Anandabazar, G24