Sinha murder case: Testimony of 6th point begins

 Staff Correspondent |  Monday, October 25th, 2021 |  10:17 am
Sinha murder case: Testimony of 6th point begins

The first day of testimony in the sixth phase of the murder case of retired Army Major Sinha Mohammad Rashed Khan has begun.

Testimony began at the Cox’s Bazar District and Sessions Judge’s Court around 10am on Monday. Testimony of this clause will continue till October 27.

Earlier, around 9:30 am, 15 people, including dismissed Teknaf Police Station OC Pradeep Kumar Das, were brought to the court under tight security.

Prosecutors said 10 of the 15 had been brought in to testify.

Earlier, the fifth testimony of the case ended on October 12.

It may be mentioned that Major (Retd.) Sinha Mohammad was shot dead by the police at Shamlapur check post on Cox’s Bazar-Teknaf Marine Drive road on the night of July 31, 2020. Rashed Khan. Police arrested Shahedul Islam Sifat who was with him. Sinha then entered the Nilima resort where he was and arrested two members of his video team, Shipra Debnath and Tahsin Rifat Nur. Though Tahsin was later released, police arrested Shipra and Sifat and sent them to jail. The two were later released on bail.

A total of four cases have been registered in connection with Sinha’s murder. Immediately after the incident, the police filed three cases. Two of the cases were registered at Teknaf police station and one at Ramu police station. Five days after the incident, on August 5, Cox’s Bazar court filed a murder case against Teknaf Police OC Pradeep Kumar Das, Baharchhara Investigation Center Inspector Liakat Ali and nine other policemen, including Sinha’s elder sister Sharmin Shahriar Ferdous. RAB is responsible for investigating four cases.

On December 13, 2020, the investigating officer and RAB-15 Cox’s Bazar Senior Assistant Superintendent of Police Mohammad filed a chargesheet against 15 people including OC Pradeep Kumar Das. Khairul Islam.

Among the accused are 9 members of the police. They are dismissed OC Pradeep Kumar Das, Inspector Liaquat Ali, Constable Rubel Sharma, SI Nandadulal Rakshit, Constable Safanul Karim, Kamal Hossain, Abdullah Al Mamun, ASI Liton Mia and Constable Sagar Dev Nath.

The other accused are- Armed Police Battalion (APBN) member SI Md. Shahjahan, Constable. Rajiv and Md. Abdullah and Teknaf Baharchhara Marishbunia village resident and witness in the case filed by the police Nurul Amin, Md. Nizam Uddin and Ayaz Uddin.

Twelve of the arrested accused have given confessional statements in court. However, OC Pradeep and Constable Rubel Sharma did not give confessional statements in court. Earlier, the accused were remanded for 12 to 15 days in three phases.