Liton, Soumya, Rubel dropped from T20 against Pakistan

  |  Tuesday, November 16th, 2021 |  5:13 pm

Experienced Mushfiqur Rahim has been rested as Bangladesh Cricket Board announced a 16-member squad for the three-match T20I series against Pakistan.

To replace out-of-form Mushfiqur the BCB has called young Akbar Ali, the leader of Bangladesh’s U-19 World Cup victory last year in the squad announced on Tuesday afternoon.

Along with Mushfiqur, Soumya Sarkar and Liton Das – all of them from the T20 World Cup team _ have also been axed from the squad with the latter two being out of the set-up due to their lean show in recent matches.

Right-arm pacer Rubel Hossain is also out of the T20 side. Shakib Al Hasan and Mohammad Saifuddin are unavailable due to injuries.

A total of six players who were Bangladesh’s part in the T20 World Cup have been omitted while four uncapped players— Saif Hassan, Yasir Ali, Shohidul Islam and Akbar Ali– have been included in the national team.

Among the new faces, Saif Hassan has played in Tests, but the others are yet to don the national team jersey in any format of the game.

The three-match T20I series will take place on November 19, 20 and 22 at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.