Bangladesh announce Test squad for New Zealand tour

  |  Saturday, December 4th, 2021 |  5:25 pm

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) on Saturday announced an 18-member squad for the two-match Test series against New Zealand.

As it was expected, the selectors retained all of the players, who are in the squad for the ongoing second and final Test against Pakistan sans pacer Rezaur Rahman Raza.

The rookie young pacer though was included in the squad didn’t get the chance to make his debut. Opener Saif Hassan was unavailable for the selection due to his illness, which forced him to be ruled out from the second Test.

Saif’s performance, which included two single digit figures in the first Test against Pakistan, however, drew huge criticism.

Senior opener Tamim Iqbal meanwhile continued to miss the International cricket due to a finger injury, he sustained during an Everest Premier League T20 in Nepal.

Ace allrounder Shakib Al Hasan was drafted into the squad even though talks are doing rounds that he would take rest from the New Zealand tour.

The two-match Test series in January 2022 is the part of the 2021-2023 cycle of the ICC World Test Championship. The Bangladesh team will leave for New Zealand at the early hour of December 9.

The first Test in from January 1-5 at Bay Oval in Tauranga while the second match is from January 9-13 at Hagley Oval in Christchurch:


Mominul Haque (Captain), Shadman Islam, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Liton Das, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Yasir Ali Rabbi, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Abu Jayed Chowdhury Rahi, Ebadot Hossain, Shoriful Islam, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Shohidul Islam, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Naim Sheikh.