President to hold dialogue with 2 more political parties Sunday

  |  Saturday, December 25th, 2021 |  7:30 pm

President Abdul Hamid will meet two more registered political parties on Sunday as he continues discussions with political parties on formation of the next Election Commission.

The tenure of the current EC is to expire on February 14 next year.

Bangladesh National Awami Party (NAP) has been invited to join the dialogue at 4pm on December 26 while Bangladesher Samajtantrik Dal (BSD) will meet the President at 6 pm the same day, President’s Press Secretary Joynal Abedin told UNB.

Bangladesh Tarikat Federation and Khelafat Majlish will participate in the discussion at 4 pm and 6 pm on December 27 respectively while Bangladesh Workers’ Party is scheduled to meet the President at 4pm on December 28.

On December 29, Bangladesh Nationalist Front (BNF) was invited to hold the dialogue at 4pm and Islami Oikya Jote will exchange their views with the President at 6pm on the same day.

On January 2, Goro Forum was invited to join the dialogue at 6pm while Bikolpadhara Bangladesh at 7 pm on the same day. And Gonotantri Party and Bangladesh Communist Party will participate in the discussion at 6 pm and 7 pm on January 3 respectively.

Hamid also met the leaders of Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (Inu) at Bangabhaban on Wednesday.

President of Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal Hasanul Haq Inu led his party’s six-member delegation in the dialogue.

Earlier, the President opened the dialogue on December 20 with Jatiya Party (JaPa), the main opposition party in Parliament.

An eight-member JaPa delegation, led by its chairman GM Quader, joined in the discussion.

Now there are 39 registered political parties in Bangladesh, according to the EC website and nine of those only have representation in Parliament.

The nine parties are Bangladesh Awami League, Jatiya Party, Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP), Bangladesh Workers Party, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal-Jasod, Bikalpadhara Bangladesh, Ganoforum, Bangladesh Tarikat Federation and Jatiya Party-JP.