Search Committee announced for formation of new EC

  |  Saturday, February 5th, 2022 |  4:08 pm

A six-member Search Committee has been announced for the formation of next Election Commission (EC).

The Cabinet Division issued a gazette in this regard on Saturday.

As per the direction of President M Abdul Hamid, the Cabinet Division formed the Search Committee led by Justice Obaidul Hassan of the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court.

Other members are Justice SM Kuddus Zaman of the High Court Division, Comptroller and Auditor General of Bangladesh Mohammad Muslim Chowdhury, Chairman of Public Service Commission Md. Sohorab Hossain, former Election Commissioner Mohammed Sohul Hussain and author Professor Anwara Syed Huque.

The Search Committee will propose names for the roles of chief election commissioner and the other election commissioners, who will pick from the list to form the new Election Commission.

President M Abdul Hamid will have to announce the new election commission before the previous one’s term comes to an end on Feb 10.

For a long time, political parties had urged the passing of a constitutional law to govern the formation of the Election Commission.

The incumbent commission, led by Chief Election Commissioner KM Nurul Huda, will expire on February 14.